How do I refresh out-of-date order information?

EasyRoutes for Shopify syncs order data as the routes when they are fulfilled (via mark as ready) or when you dispatch a route to a driver, although it's possible to opt out of syncing this information. When changes are made directly to an order, sometimes the up-to-date information may not appear on the orders page or in existing routes that have been created.


To refresh all of your order data prior to creating a route, click the Refresh Orders button on the Orders page:

Highlighting the 'Refresh Orders' button, a refresh icon above the Orders table to the right of the map view.

If you need to sync order data more frequently to a route, here's how to update your route manually. 

Use Update order data

  1. Access any individual route's page.
  2. Click the Actions menu (three dots icon) button directly below the map.
  3. Select Update order data:

Route page with the Actions menu (three dots) below the map outlined and open, with an arrow pointing at Update order data

When do order selections get out of date?

When order data is re-synced using the "Update order data" action or "Re-sync order data on fulfill" action when stops are marked as Ready or dispatched (shown below), it is possible that selections made on orders cannot reliably be set.

Re-sync order data on fulfill checkbox, ticked

This happens because the underlying order item data has changed.

Some of your custom selections don't match the order anymore and have been reset. Please review these selections in the table below (look for the warning icon).

You can then either perform the Mark as ready action again, manually update stop statuses or ensure that order items selected on the stop are still up to date.

Stops with reset selections will display an alert icon next to their items:

Alert icon next to items with reset selections.

How do I update edited shipping addresses?

When refreshing order data from Shopify, EasyRoutes will indicate when the shipping address may have been edited. By default EasyRoutes will not automatically update the stop location when refreshing order data to avoid overwriting any manual adjustments to stop locations.

Orange dot beside a stop's address in the route table, with a tooltip saying the address is different from the order shipping address because the stop was edited or the order's address changed

To resolve, edit the stop and review the stop information. The order's shipping address is shown at the bottom and can be used by clicking on the Reset Address Fields link. Click Update and then Save to persist the changes to the route. You will typically want to re-optimize the route to ensure the delivery route is optimized for the new shipping address.

Stop information panel with the Address field outlined, and the order's shipping address below it with an arrow pointing at the Reset Address Fields link


How do I refresh a route to see the latest updates from my driver?

When editing a route in EasyRoutes that has already been started by a driver, a warning appears if the route is out of date - for example, when a driver has made updates (marking stops as complete, uploading proof of delivery, etc.) while on the road. In these cases, two options are presented:

Your route is out of date warning, with the Save anyway and overwrite updates and Discard edits and refresh route buttons

The warning will provide two options:

  • Save anyway and overwrite updates: This applies your changes but will overwrite any delivery updates or Proof of Delivery already uploaded from the driver app.
  • Discard edits and refresh route: This option retains any updates made from the mobile app, and lets you start fresh with the latest route state to make your edits again.

To avoid any conflicts on already started routes, before making any edits to the route, you can also use the Refresh route command to sync any updates to stop statuses and Proof of Delivery uploads that have been processed since the route was initially loaded:

Route page with the Actions menu (three dots) below the map outlined and open, with an arrow pointing at Refresh route at the bottom of the list

After making any edits/changes, your driver will receive a push notification indicating which of their routes has been updated. Updates to a route that trigger push notifications include:

  • New stop or break added to the route
  • Stop item fulfillment changed
  • Stop manually re-ordered
  • Route re-optimized
  • Route re-scheduled
  • Route start or end location changed
  • Route Options added or removed
  • Route renamed
  • Route tags added, edited, or removed
  • Route note added, edited, or removed
  • Customer note (Shopify orders) updated

We recommend that your driver pull to refresh the route in their app to ensure everything is fully synced.

Alternatively, you can access the Tracking tab of any route, ensuring Auto refresh is enabled, to see live updates to stop statuses and Proof of Delivery as soon as they're uploaded from your driver:

Route's Tracking tab outlined, showing This route is live, with an arrow pointing at the Auto refresh is enabled control on the right

What options do I have if I've already accidentally overwritten route updates?

If stop status updates made in the mobile app have been overwritten, you can use Bulk actions on the route to update stop statuses:

  • Use the checkboxes to select any desired stops on the route. From the menu that appears in the upper right-hand corner of the table, click into the Mark as... menu and select the delivery status you'd like to apply to these stops:

Route stops table with four stops' checkboxes ticked and outlined, and an arrow pointing at the Mark as... menu open to Ready, In Progress, Completed and Attempted

If Proof of Delivery items have been overwritten, they may still be accessible via the Shopify Orders page, and can be re-uploaded:

  • If the driver uploaded Proof of Delivery (photos, signatures, notes), they may still be visible when viewing individual orders from the Shopify Orders page, listed within the Additional Details panel for any order.
  • If you’d like to manually re-add any overwritten Proof of Delivery items into EasyRoutes specifically, download the photos from the link found in any order's Additional Details panel, and then re-upload them manually. We have a workflow here to help with this process:  Manually uploading Proof of Delivery
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.