How do I dispatch / share routes?
EasyRoutes makes it simple to share and dispatch delivery routes to your drivers who can then open their routes using EasyRoutes Delivery Driver app for iOS and Android.
With EasyRoutes you can assign a route to a driver, then dispatch it to them, sending them the route link directly; you can also generate a Dispatch Link that allows your drivers to assign dispatched routes to themselves.
Manually dispatching a route
Routes cannot be dispatched or assigned to a new driver if they're actively dispatched already. If the Driver dropdown is greyed out and cannot be clicked, click the Dispatched button to the right, and click the Stop Sharing button. This will un-dispatch the route, and allow you to select and dispatch to a new driver by following the steps below:
- At the top of any route you create, you'll find the route header where you can rename your route, schedule it, and assign it to a driver. Click the Driver dropdown box and a list of drivers will appear. Select one from the list to assign that driver:

- Click the Dispatch button found in the upper right-hand corner above the map, and click Dispatch again on the pop-up that appears:

-
The assigned driver will receive a push notification alerting them they have a new route. You can also directly copy the route's share link, or click any of the shortcut buttons to share the route via SMS, email, or WhatsApp.
Dispatching notifies only your driver. Customers aren't notified. For what customers receive (and when), see Delivery Notifications.
Note: Clicking Dispatch on a route without selecting an assigned driver beforehand will generate a Dispatch Link that any active drivers in your roster can claim from the EasyRoutes Delivery Driver mobile app. When an active driver claims a route, the route will be automatically updated as assigned to that driver.
Automatically dispatching a route
In order to automatically dispatch routes to drivers as soon as they're created, route auto-assign must also be enabled for at least one driver. To do so:
- Enable auto-assign of routes to one or more drivers from the How many routes? panel on the left-hand side of your Route Options page:

- Enable the Auto-dispatch route option found immediately below the Route Scheduling panel:

Once both of these Route Options are configured as described above, routes with these options applied will automatically be dispatched to the auto-assigned driver(s) as soon as they're created.
Troubleshooting & FAQs
I assigned a route to my driver, but they don't see it in the mobile app
- Dispatched? The route should show Dispatched above the map. If it only has a driver assigned, click Dispatch.
- Expired? Dispatched routes expire after a set time: 72 hours by default, unless you’ve updated behaviour in your EasyRoutes Settings > Drivers tab, using the Route expiry dropdown menu. To send it again, dispatch the route again.
- Right driver? Check the route is assigned to the correct driver. They must be signed in with the same phone number you added for them, which you can confirm from the Drivers & Vehicles tab in your EasyRoutes sidebar navigation.
- Still on your team? Drivers you’ve removed from your account can’t see your routes; confirm the driver is still listed and active from the Drivers & Vehicles tab in your EasyRoutes sidebar navigation.
- Refreshed? In the mobile driver app, ask your driver to pull down on the My Routes homepage to refresh the list.
Assigning a driver and/or marking stops or a route as Ready does not send routes to drivers. Your drivers will only see a route in the mobile app after you click Dispatch (or configure auto-dispatch) as described above.
I can’t dispatch a route
- The Driver dropdown is greyed out: This means that the route is already dispatched. Click Dispatched, then Stop Sharing, then choose a driver and dispatch again.
- Route is archived. Please unarchive route to dispatch: Unarchive the route before trying to dispatch again.
- Dispatching to a deactivated driver: EasyRoutes warns you when dispatching to a deactivated driver, but the route still goes out to accommodate workflows where routes are planned well in advance, or drivers only work part-time. The driver can claim it if you have a free seat, or you can activate them.
- “Error. Please try again.” keeps appearing: Try again in a minute. If it still fails, contact us with the route name and a brief description of any errors you're encountering.
Can a driver have more than one route?
Yes! Dispatch each route to the same driver, and they’ll all appear in the driver’s My Routes list. For example, if a driver comes back early, create a new route and dispatch it to them, or dispatch a week's worth of routes at a time so drivers know what to expect for their upcoming shifts. You can also add stops to their current route and re-optimize the remaining stops.
My customers did not receive a notification when the route with their order was dispatched
Dispatching only notifies your driver; customers aren’t notified by design. Customers get messages when you send them, for example, from any route's page, using the Send notifications dropdown menu; depending on your settings, they may also be notified when their driver starts their route, or when their stop is marked Delivered or Attempted. See Delivery Notifications and Manually triggering notifications for full details on both workflows.